Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2 and relays — Parallax Forums

BS2 and relays

prodigy467prodigy467 Posts: 5
edited 2009-07-22 03:19 in BASIC Stamp
I am about to start a project to open a dog door using the basic stamp 2, some sensors, and a linear actuator. I've done a fair bit of research but am stuck on one part. Just a bit of background first though, i am a professional software developer, but am fairly new to BS and electrical engineering. So my question is, will the output voltage on one of the BS2 pins be enough to trigger a relay such as this one: http://www.firgelliauto.com/product_info.php?products_id=28·? From what i understand the voltage that goes to the pins is ~5v, and the relay is execting 12v. Surprisingly, I can't find any examples of people doing this (on google or here), but I would imaging this is a common thing. If this is not possible, how do people accomplish this task (the task being, engaging a linear actuator which requires higher voltage/amps and the ability to reverse the polarity)?

Thanks!
Doug

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-07-20 04:06
    The relay you showed cannot be triggered directly from a BS2 pin for two reasons: 1) The relay requires 12V to operate. It cannot operate at 5V. The BS2 I/O pin will be destroyed by 12V. 2) The relay requires more current to operate than the BS2 can supply. The maximum current from an I/O pin is about 25mA. It looks like the relay requires about six times that.

There are all kinds of examples available for controlling a relay from a Stamp I/O pin using a switching transistor. For example, download Nuts and Volts Column #6 and have a look at it. Go to the main Parallax webpage and click on the Resources tab. In the list that comes up, click on Nuts and Volts Columns and you'll be taken to the index.

You can reverse the polarity with a 2nd relay (a DPDT - double pole double throw relay) that can be connected to reverse the power.