Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Sensor to measure a distance! — Parallax Forums

Sensor to measure a distance!

whitefingerwhitefinger Posts: 12
edited 2009-12-31 02:09 in Accessories
Hi I'm new to all this and just need all your opinions on how to resolve my problem please so that i don't buy lots of stuff for nothing! [noparse]:)[/noparse]

Anyway what I'm trying to do is build a device that i will be able to use to measure a long piece of rope that will be at speed!
At first i was looking on google for a measuring wheels but i needed a wheel that was digital and could be plugged into a USB port to retrieve the data into my software!

And some how i have ended up at this site! so i was wondering on building it my self as i can program! so do u have any ideas like do you think i could use the "Reed Switch and Magnet" with the magnet on a wheel so that as the rope passes the wheel, the wheel will turn and then the magnet will pass the sensor every diameter of the wheel and then if i know the diameter in mm then i could work out how long the rope was!!!!!!!!!!!

Comments

• LeonLeon Posts: 7,620
    edited 2009-07-14 18:19
    That should work. A rotary encoder on the wheel will give you more accurate results - fractions of the wheel diameter - if that is important. You will need a suitable MCU, and software running on the PC. Here is a project of mine that does most of what you need:

www.leonheller.com/usb

There are lots of other ways to do it, but they will probably be more expensive and more complicated.

Leon

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Amateur radio callsign: G1HSM
    Suzuki SV1000S motorcycle

Post Edited (Leon) : 7/14/2009 6:54:44 PM GMT
  • whitefingerwhitefinger Posts: 12
    edited 2009-07-14 23:51
    Thats great thanks for your quick response i found a rotary encoder from
    http://www.lenord.de/en/produkte/sensorline/01absolut/Agel235/promotion/parametrierung/index.html