Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Wifi enabled robot — Parallax Forums

Wifi enabled robot

noobmunchernoobmuncher Posts: 124
edited 2014-12-16 05:05 in Robotics
Hello,

I am a first year university student who has a few years of experience now building autonomous robots and the likes. However I need expertise on a new project of mine. I am building a droid for a "safe walk" security volunteer program I am a part of. It would basically just allow us to patrol areas without actually leaving the room unless needed. I need to be able to control it wirelessly and recieve live video feed. For the video I plan to use a IP wireless network camera because the campus is coated in wireless internet, but for the robot controls i need assistance. Originally I had planned on using a 2.4 full spectrum r/c radio which i have been told a decent one can cover a quarter mile, which SHOULD be enough. Then I started thinking though, is their a easy, yet somewhat affordable way of controlling the BS2 through wifi? This would allow it to go as far as the networks allow it and would be great for inside the school buildings.
My research has brought me to this
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=9290
but how hard will that be to use? I can't exactly go around setting up routers, i need it to find the networks that aren't password protected (the entire school) and connect to them.

Any input on this matter would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• noobmunchernoobmuncher Posts: 124
    edited 2009-07-13 08:58
    By the way the camera i intended on using is:
    http://www.onhop.ca/Product/10197504?f=Shopbot
  • UghaUgha Posts: 543
    edited 2009-07-13 11:10
    Since you've got good wifi coverage and you need a webcam interface... I'd consider going another route personally.

You could use either a nano-ITX board (kinda expensive but worth it to save bulk and power) or an old laptop as the
    "brain" to your robot.