Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Upgrade from BS2 to BS2p 24 — Parallax Forums

Upgrade from BS2 to BS2p 24

G McMurryG McMurry Posts: 134
edited 2009-07-10 20:24 in BASIC Stamp
I have several great projects that I have been using the BS2 on for many years. I am currently doing one that is starting to eat up my processing time.

I happened to come across several BS2p 24 chips. How difficult is going to be for me to upgrade some of my projects to this device? I use the Basic Stamp Editor 2.4.2 and I often experiment with the NX-1000 Samp Works Board.Can I just plug the BS2p 24 into the Stamp Works Board and try some things? Is the BS2P 24 downward compatible with my BS2 commands?

THANKS IN ADVANCE FOR ANY ADVICE

For those interested, here is a little about my current project.

My latest project is a control panel for my 7.5" model train. This is a 1.5 inch scale train that you can actually ride. Many trains like mine are Live Steam. Some are battery only (like a golf cart) and some are gas over hydraulic. Mine is gas over electric.

I am currently using two BS2 stamp modules. One to operate my control panel that is connected via serial link to one that is mounted on the engine itself. Currently all operations such as the Ignition, Starter, Throttle, Choke, various power relays and Air Brakes (an interesting project in themselves) are controlled by BS2.

The next phase of my project is to monitor some of the engine activity and display operating voltage, current (amps), engine rpm, scale mph and anything else I can think of on three switchable rows of 3 digit 7-segment displays.

Some of the sub modules I am using in this project...

74hc165 input expander
74hc595 output expander
MAX232 rs232 Serial Interface
LM3914 Bar/Graph LED interface
MAX7219 8 digit 7-segment display driver
ADC0834 Analog to Digital Converter
PULSOUT commands to drive hobby servos (throttle and choke)