Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Decimal to 7 Bit Value — Parallax Forums

Decimal to 7 Bit Value

Chris SpaconeChris Spacone Posts: 7
edited 2009-07-08 00:31 in BASIC Stamp
Apologies if this question has been asked and answered, I haven't been able to find anything that quite addresses my need. I want to convert a decimal number with a maximum value of 127 into a 7 bit binary value. The application is pretty straightforward; I have an MP3 player that will play back any one of 127 individual files based on the binary value presented at the interface. The file bits are loaded to the interface and allowed to settle for several tens of milliseconds then the 8th bit is used to strobe the playback.

I could use a LUT but that is inelegant, I'm sure that there is an algorithmic way of addressing the problem. I'm no programmer but I'm not lazy either. I'd like some direction to existing documentation or methods so that I can stop stumbling around.

Thanks,
Chris

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
TWSRO schmismo! Low level scanning is the key to total field perception!

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-07-07 19:56
    What do you mean by "decimal number"? I ask because, within the Stamp, all values are just numbers. If you copy a number to a group of 7 I/O pins, it's already a 7 bit binary value at that point. Look in the Basic Stamp Syntax and Reference Manual on page 83 for the names for various combinations of groups of I/O pins. Since there's no group of 7 I/O pins, you'd typically use a group of 8 I/O pins with the 7 lower numbered pins containing the 7 bit value and the 8th pin would be the strobe. When you set the 8 pin group to a number from 0 to 127, the 8th bit would be zero (low) and the 7 bits would contain the number's value. You'd then use a HIGH, then LOW statement to generate the strobe. If you need some delays in there, you'd use a PAUSE statement.