Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newbie - CAR MAF Project — Parallax Forums

Newbie - CAR MAF Project

jbalatjbalat Posts: 96
edited 2009-07-28 00:05 in BASIC Stamp
Hi, Im new to Stamp. I have a kit but havent even plugged it in yet.

Please let me know how hard this would be to do so I know if it is worth the pain of learning all about this stamp stuff ?

I need to modify the CARS MAF (Mass Airflow Signal) to the computer for a HHO installation I am testing.

It is a perfect square wave signal at 3.8v Peak to Peak

At 600 rpm the frequency is 36 Hz
at 2500 rpm it is 111 Hz

Voltage stays constant

I need to modify the frequency by a factor ie. 80 % (or whatever I decide or dial in)
eg. 29Hz at 600 rpm and 89Hz at 2500rpm

The link to the HHO forum is here with more details of my little project
http://www.fuel-saver.org/Thread-HHO-woes?pid=29192#pid29192

Thanks in advance !!!!
John B

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-06-30 05:35
    The Stamp can only do one thing at a time, so it can measure the input frequency or it can output a pulse, but not both at the same time. With a little bit of external hardware (like a 555 timer with a digital pot to control the frequency and a flip-flop to divide by 2 to get a symmetric square wave) the Stamp can measure the input frequency or pulse width and control the digital pot to output the new frequency. It can also read some thumbwheels that set the adjustment factor and provide some feedback on a small LCD.