Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
A friend gave me a BASIC STAMP [pic] — Parallax Forums

A friend gave me a BASIC STAMP [pic]

shamooshamoo Posts: 5
edited 2009-07-03 03:20 in BASIC Stamp
A friend of mine has given me the following BASIC STAMP and I had a few questions.

1. I am new to STAMPS/embedded systems/etc etc. I know some basic python. Is this STAMP meant for newbs? Whats the significance of this specific STAMP, such as what are you supposed to learn with this kit?

2. Is this kit complete? I think All I need is a serial cable, and more wires.

3. Where can I buy these additional wires/resistors? Radio Shack I am guessing....

4. Is there a guide or something to get me started on this? I did some googling and found this http://www.parallax.com/dl/docs/prod/boards/hwb.pdf

Thanks!

photogox.jpg

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-06-29 20:47
    Start with the Basic Stamp Syntax and Reference Manual under BASIC Stamp Documentation here:

www.parallax.com/tabid/477/Default.aspx

and the "What's a Microcontroller?" tutorial under Stamps in Class Downloads at the same link.

For some of the exercises in the tutorial, you will need some LEDs and a few resistors / capacitors / switches
    all of which you could get at a place like RadioShack.

A serial cable would be helpful. If you have a USB-only computer without its own serial port, you will need a
    compatible USB to serial adapter. Not all USB to serial adapters will work with Parallax microcontrollers.
    Those that use an FTDI chipset will work. Others may not.
  • Steph LindsaySteph Lindsay Posts: 767
    edited 2009-06-29 21:38
    Hi Shamoo,

Mike's pointing you down the right track. The "What's a Microcontroller?" book is the best place to get started, and there are MANY things to do afterwards. The BASIC Stamp HomeWork Board has an on-board BS2, which is the microcontroller module at the center of our Stamps in Class series.