Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
What product do I need? — Parallax Forums

What product do I need?

JacobKJacobK Posts: 2
edited 2009-06-30 04:36 in BASIC Stamp
I've spent a bunch of time on the Parallax site trying to figure out what product I need to buy given my project's feature set. But I can't figure it out. Perhaps someone out there can help me.

My project needs to:
Run standalone in a box outside powered by a 9V (or other) battery.
Run a time-based program.
Output:
The program needs to be able to play a sound file from an attached removable storage device. Ideally, I'd plug in a usb fob, and the program could read and play the files on it.
Send the audio out the analog port (I'd hook up an amp and speaker).
Power a tiny motor
Possibly turn a fan on and off to cool the board?
Input:
Get input values from a photovoltaic cell, so my program could do things starting when the sun comes up.
Possibly know when the battery starts to get low?

I'm a newbie, but perhaps someone knows off-hand what product I need to buy to do this.

Many thanks,
Jacob

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-06-27 20:10
    If you particularly want to use a Stamp, you would need some external devices to do some of the work. In particular, a VMusic2 from Vinculum would be able to play MP3 tracks from a USB Flash Drive (www.vinculum.com/prd_vmusic1.html). If you want accurate timekeeping, some kind of external clock chip would be important like a Dallas DS1302 (datasheets.maxim-ic.com/en/ds/DS1302.pdf). Parallax has plenty of sample code using a Stamp to interface to this.