Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BS2p max pin input voltage and encoder application — Parallax Forums

BS2p max pin input voltage and encoder application

jacko87jacko87 Posts: 6
edited 2009-06-27 05:08 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all, I am new to basic stamp, I wonder how much is the maximal pin input voltage for bs2p.. I plan to use it for encoder application, when the light comes, my circuit output signal of 5.22V, which should be read high by the BS2, and when there is no light, the output signal will becomes 0 V.. Is the output signal of 5.22V is safe to be used as an input signal for BS2 pin?

the second one is what function can be used for this application:
I want to run a dc motor, and the encoder signal will output high and low values to be used as a feedback for the motor..
the initial signal is 1 (the light goes through), and I expect that the motor will stop when the signal turn to 1 again (after it change to 0 before because the motor movement)..

I know Button function but I am not sure of its application...

Can anyone help me with this? Thx before..

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2009-06-26 14:53
    You should be OK at 5.22 volts, but I usually put 100 ohms or 220 ohms in series with the input pins on the Stamp for a bit of extra safety. For instance, if you accidently set the Stamp pin to be an output LOW when the encoder signal is high.

Depending on how many pulses per revolution your encoder gives, you may quickly realize the Stamp may not be able keep up at high pulse rates. Also, an encoder can also be used to get direction of rotation information as well, but does require a bit more on-the-fly calculation.

To monitor the encoder pulses, use the INx function, where x is your pin number. Use the Editor's help file to see sample applications of any command.
    ·You can also use PULSIN and COUNT, depending on your application.