Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Is the BS2 enough for this project? — Parallax Forums

Is the BS2 enough for this project?

electromanjelectromanj Posts: 270
edited 2009-07-06 02:18 in BASIC Stamp
Hello fellow stampers!

I am about to start a new project and have a few questions before I dive in.

I am an electrical contractor. When I go out to a job·we start grabbing parts from the truck and install them. When the job is done I walk around with some preprinted forms and check off the parts that were used.

I have this RFID reader a couple of BS2s and a memory stick datalogger sitting in front of me.....

I would like to have a RFID card assigned to each part. When someone grabs a part from the truck the run the card past the reader. Maybe a selector switch so you can add a part or remove a part from the list. At the end of the day I print out the list and done.

To get started an audible tone to signal a read. Eventually a lcd readout with a text to voice module.

I would like to start off really basic to get going and then add as I go, (I'm going to lose some more hair on this one I think)! tongue.gif

Is the bs2 enough for this project?

Any sugestions will be greatly appriciated!

Thanks!

·

Comments

• xanatosxanatos Posts: 1,120
    edited 2009-06-20 22:15
    Depending on your experience level, this could either be a challenge, or a lot of fun! The stamps can all handle what you've got in mind. I've been using the Emic module for a few months now and it is incredibly easy to use. The datalogger is also easy, as long as you create a routine to predetermine the exact data-write length you will be writing to the logger- it's VERY strict about its data requirements.

Have fun and feel free to ask if you have any questions that the documentation and code for the items doesn't cover.

Dave X
  • SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-06-20 23:30