Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Problem with 12-bit AD converter — Parallax Forums

Problem with 12-bit AD converter

TrangTrang Posts: 9
edited 2009-06-22 16:21 in BASIC Stamp
Hello everyone!

I'm a newbie and I'm trying to interface a BS2e with the 12-bit AD converter LTC1298 CN8. I'm stuck at a problem that I haven't been able to figure out for 2 days now [noparse]:([/noparse] Could anyone please help me?

I got the sample code from: LTC1298 App Kit
and I modified it a little bit to just read the result from channel 0. Here is my code:

' {$STAMP BS2e}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

CS        PIN   4
CLK       PIN   7
DIO       PIN   6
AD        VAR   Word

HIGH CS
HIGH DIO

config=%1001

again:
 GOSUB convert
 DEBUG "Channel 0: ", DEC AD, CR
 PAUSE 200
GOTO again

convert:

LOW CS
 SHIFTOUT DIO, CLK, MSBFIRST, [noparse][[/noparse]config\4]
 SHIFTIN DIO, CLK, MSBPOST, [noparse][[/noparse]AD\12]
 HIGH CS
RETURN

I wanted to be consistent so I made every data transfer to be MSB first. The sample code used LSBFIRST instead. But either way, I couldn't any meaningful data. It kept showing 0 as the result.

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2009-06-18 16:40
    I don't have the data sheet in front of me but I've used the sample code for years without problems. The MSB/LSB choice may not be yours to make as it is defined in how the LTC1298 works.

I'd back up and get the chip working with the un-modified code. Usually, all you want to change is which channel is being converted.

Cheers,

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Tom Sisk

http://www.siskconsult.com
    ·
  • TrangTrang Posts: 9
    edited 2009-06-18 17:31
    Hi stamptrol,

Thanks for your reply and suggestions. Testing the AD converter with the unmodified code was the first thing I did actually. But it didn't work either. I kept getting 0. I also checked all my wiring many, many times...