Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help with MS DOS/command prompt! — Parallax Forums

Help with MS DOS/command prompt!

MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
edited 2009-06-12 17:58 in Propeller 1
I am working through the Hydra book right now and I have attempted to use some of the tools for convering bitmaps, sound, and maps to SPIN. The problem is, you have to give it programs via command prompt / DOS. It comes up automatically

C:\Documents and Settings\user one>

then I type in the specified path and the commands after it.

C:\Documents and Settings\user one>My_documents\Hydra\sources>MAP2SPIN.EXE pitfall_demo_work_04.map pitfall_tiles_work_04.bmp -TW16 -TH10 > MAP_DEMO.SPIN

it displays the message "system cannot find the specified path." If I remove the _ in the My_Documents then it says " 'My' is not an internal or external command"

Can someone that knows please help me?


▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Toys are microcontroled.
Robots are microcontroled.
I am microcontroled.

Comments

  • kwinnkwinn Posts: 8,697
    edited 2009-06-09 14:24
    It sounds like the path is missing or the name is off. Try following the path in windows. Go to C:, select Documents and settings and see if it contains folder "user one". If it is there select it and see if "My_documents" is there and continue down the path.

    All it takes is for one letter in one part of the path to be off for that error to crop up.

    The other thing you can do is search for *.spin and see what the path is to the files displayed.

    Post Edited (kwinn) : 6/9/2009 2:29:49 PM GMT
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2009-06-09 14:29
    I have already checked that, but I will check agian just to make sure.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Toys are microcontroled.
    Robots are microcontroled.
    I am microcontroled.
  • kuronekokuroneko Posts: 3,623
    edited 2009-06-09 14:30
    microcontrolled said...
    C:\Documents and Settings\user one>My_documents\Hydra\sources>MAP2SPIN.EXE pitfall_demo_work_04.map pitfall_tiles_work_04.bmp -TW16 -TH10 > MAP_DEMO.SPIN
    C:\Documents and Settings\user one>"My Documents\Hydra\sources\MAP2SPIN.EXE" ...
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2009-06-09 15:03
    I changed "My Documents" to "Documents" and typed it in. It didn't display an error and put up the program, but when you put in the file name and destination folder then it just skips to the next line without running the program.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Toys are microcontroled.
    Robots are microcontroled.
    I am microcontroled.
  • Beau SchwabeBeau Schwabe Posts: 6,568
    edited 2009-06-09 16:30
    Sounds like you are having a "long name" verses the standard 8.3 format issue.

    Whe you are at the command line, type...

    DIR /X
    
    



    ... This will give a directory listing that will display the Long name and also the 8.3 format.
    When you CD into the directory use the 8.3 format instead.

    For example:

    instead of...
    cd My Documents
    
    



    ..try cding into the 8.3 format instead...
    cd MYDOCU~1
    
    



    ...try that and see what the 8.3 name is for "pitfall_demo_work_04.map" after doing a DIR /X in the directory where "pitfall_demo_work_04.map" is. Same thing for "pitfall_tiles_work_04.bmp"

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Beau Schwabe

    IC Layout Engineer
    Parallax, Inc.

    Post Edited (Beau Schwabe (Parallax)) : 6/9/2009 4:37:34 PM GMT
  • dMajodMajo Posts: 855
    edited 2009-06-09 17:47
    Two errors:

    - in the path you have a "grather than" symbol instead of backslash
    - when you are referring to long filenames with unusual characters or spaces you should include them in double-quote

    Second:
    - the hydra manual is showing you where to run the program. Maybe "MAP2SPIN.EXE" is missing the path to the files

    try this:
    CD "\My documents\Hydra\sources"

    MAP2SPIN.EXE pitfall_demo_work_04.map pitfall_tiles_work_04.bmp -TW16 -TH10 > MAP_DEMO.SPIN

    Not owning a hydra, but having the recent forum publication of sources, probably there is an error more: the second line have a mistake in the first filename - probably the correct one is this
    MAP2SPIN.EXE pitfall_demo_map_04.map pitfall_tiles_work_04.bmp -TW16 -TH10 > MAP_DEMO.SPIN
  • mparkmpark Posts: 1,305
    edited 2009-06-09 18:44
    microcontrolled said...
    I changed "My Documents" to "Documents" and typed it in. It didn't display an error and put up the program, but when you put in the file name and destination folder then it just skips to the next line without running the program.

    Maybe the program did run. When you type a command line that ends with "> somefile", the command runs and puts its output into somefile instead of typing it out on the screen. So in your case, see if map_demo.spin contains anything interesting.
  • Oldbitcollector (Jeff)Oldbitcollector (Jeff) Posts: 8,091
    edited 2009-06-09 19:28
    I'll assume that you aren't an old "dos head" like some of us old frogs here.

    Move everything to it's own folder (directory)

    1.. My Computer {double click}
    2.. Local Disk C {double click}
    right click and make a new folder, give it a name, say HYDRA

    Using copy&paste copy all the files you need to this folder
    including the executable and it's data.

    Drop into a command prompt again and type:
    CD\HYDRA

    You should be able to use that MAP2SPIN {data} without all
    the hassle of paths, etc.

    OBC

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    New to the Propeller?

    Visit the: The Propeller Pages @ Warranty Void.
  • Jimmy W.Jimmy W. Posts: 112
    edited 2009-06-11 00:47
    Also, A great friend to anyone using command prompts in any environment is auto completion, start typing then hit tab, so when you type "my" and hit tab it will auto complete to "my documents" then keep on drilling down. One of the many things windows is missing is an auto LS when you tab on a directory, yuck.


    Jimmy
  • BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2009-06-11 22:51
    Jimmy W. said...
    Also, A great friend to anyone using command prompts in any environment is auto completion, start typing then hit tab, so when you type "my" and hit tab it will auto complete to "my documents" then keep on drilling down. One of the many things windows is missing is an auto LS when you tab on a directory, yuck.

    Don't rush 'em. It's taken Microsoft years just to catch up this far!

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Eccles : How do I open the door?
    Bluebottle : You turn the knob on your side
    Eccles : I haven't got a knob on my side!
  • KyeKye Posts: 2,200
    edited 2009-06-12 00:32
    Use windows powershell. Its like a unix shell (BASH etc.) But on windows.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Nyamekye,
  • CounterRotatingPropsCounterRotatingProps Posts: 1,132
    edited 2009-06-12 00:52
    Kye,

    I use powershell all the time - and, as one of OBC's 'Old DOS Heads' - I'd have to say with all due respects that suggesting P.Shell for someone who's struggling with basic DOS is a bad idea.
    Powershell's syntax is a tad bizarre - not to mention how difficult it is to remember what objects do what. The learning curve is way too steep for the simple problem Microcontrolled is working on.

    Yes, Powershell is great and is MS's very slow-to-get-around-to answer to the superior *nix shells, but no, it's not at all like any *nix shells.

    (And, BTW, you can get *nix shells on windows without using CYGWIN.)

    @Microcontrolled: do what OBC suggests - this is the easy, clean way to solve the problem

    - Howard
    A DOS Luddite

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Got Electrons?
  • AleAle Posts: 2,363
    edited 2009-06-12 04:49
    Paths and filanames with spaces in between are a bad idea(tm).

    Either use a backslash to escape the space or change to the directory using double quotes:

    cd One\<space>sillydirname (you get it with tab)

    cd "One sillydirname"

    If you have used any unix shell, get a hold of cygwin. then you can use all normal unix shells and some nice utilities from unix: tar, grep, strings, etc. and forward slashes for paths and backslash to escape the spaces.

    My personal favorite: put everything in a directory called "c:\a" or something simple and short and avoid using "My Documents\blah blah"

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Visit the home of pPropQL, pPropQL020 and OMU for the pPropQL/020 at omnibus.uni-freiburg.de/~rp92
  • MicrocontrolledMicrocontrolled Posts: 2,461
    edited 2009-06-12 17:24
    I fixed it!!! I posted this a couple of days ago when I did fix it but now that I look at it I guess my post never got through.
    The program works.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Toys are microcontroled.
    Robots are microcontroled.
    I am microcontroled.



    If it's not Parallax then don't even bother. :-)

    Propeller SRAM TV driver winner: ==NOT COMPLEATED: 3 WEEKS UNTIL ENDING TIME==
  • CounterRotatingPropsCounterRotatingProps Posts: 1,132
    edited 2009-06-12 17:58
    Glad you got it going, Microcontrolled!

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Got Electrons?
Sign In or Register to comment.