Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
RGB LED Controller — Parallax Forums

RGB LED Controller

Jason GulbinasJason Gulbinas Posts: 17
edited 2009-05-28 17:22 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I am new to STAMP and am using the BS2. I have successfully built some cool LED projects but want to now take it to the next level with some LED control.

I am looking to control a typical RGB LED so that I can change brightness/color. If I have independent control of each color then I will be able to get some cool oranges and yellos, etc. out of the RGB LED.

Apparently there are some "off-shelf" options available for doing this such as the ShiftBright (which looks like a board and LED controller combo all in one):

http://macetech.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=1

My question:

Is there a way to build an LED controller on the Parallax BOE by using basic components (perhaps a controller IC from TI or Allegro (like the A6281)) or would it be easier to just buy the ShiftBrite?

If the ShiftBrite is the answer does anyone have any example code and schematics of how to hook it up to the Stamp and control it?

Thanks so much!
Jason

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-05-27 06:34
    Take a look at the TLC5940. It's a chip that I've been meaning to try just for this purpose.
  • Jason GulbinasJason Gulbinas Posts: 17
    edited 2009-05-27 06:43
    Thanks for the reply!

The TLC5940 I am sure would be a great solution but I am a beginner and know enough to get me to the level where this component and the RGB LED is placed onto the breadboard. I would be clueless of the interconnect between the Stamp and the IC and the IC to the LED. Then there is the challenge of figuring out what code to use to control the circuit!!