Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need help with a Select and Enter type menu — Parallax Forums

Need help with a Select and Enter type menu

ihmechihmech Posts: 179
edited 2009-05-30 20:42 in BASIC Stamp
I have been working on building a shop tool for use at my workplace.· I have been tinkering with electronics for the past 15yrs, but I am new to the Basic Stamp and programing, I'm teaching myself and trying to develop a tool at the same time.· My biggest problem is that I have not been able to create a simple menu.· I want a menu that I can display on an LCD, but I can't get the menu part down.· The menu I want works like this:· "Press select to choose machine"· Pressing the·select button will change the menu between "Machine_A and Machine_B" and pressing enter for "Machine_A or B will·start the program and use preset values for the machine selected.· I also need to be able to add more than two options in the future for new machine models.· Any help would greatly be appriciated.· Thanks!

Post Edited (ihmech) : 5/27/2009 2:01:45 AM GMT

Comments

• rixterrixter Posts: 95
    edited 2009-05-27 02:06
    ihmech,

What I did was to have a couple of push buttons to the right side of a 4x20 LCD and I displayed on the LCD the menu choices with an arrow pointing to the button to press. Here is an example:

Run Program One --->
    Run Program Two --->
    Run Program Three -->
    Run Program Four -->

The code in your program will loop through and check for the pressing of any of these buttons and branch to the appropriate code in your program (or slot in your BS2 if so equipped). In your case, you may need a hierarchy of menu screens. So for example pressing button one would jump to code that displays another menu on the LCD that applies to Machine A in your case. Push buttons can of course be "re-used" in the sense that the top button is selecting a machine in the first level of the menu system and may be used to turn that machine on in menu level two.