Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Store a great deal of Datas — Parallax Forums

Store a great deal of Datas

Adriano72Adriano72 Posts: 22
edited 2009-05-20 13:56 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all, I'm a beginner

I would like to know if there's a way to store a large amount of data using a Basic Stamp, i.e. temperature measured over one entire day every 5 minutes.

I suspect that the EEprom can't hold so much data so I'm wondering if is there a method to store data to a SD card or something similar.

After storing the data I would need to read these data via USB on a laptop

Thank you in advance

Cheers

Adriano

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-05-13 14:05
    One temperature reading every 5 minutes is not that much. That's 12 readings per hour times 24 hours = 288 readings with each reading taking 2 bytes. That's 576 bytes, about 1/4 of the EEPROM memory of a BS2. If your measurement program is not very complex, it should fit easily in the remaining memory. Take a look at Stamp Plot Pro which is available free for non-commercial use from Parallax. This PC program can handle the receiving end of the data dump and can store the data in a file and plot it for analysis. The same USB to serial adapter that you use for programming the Stamp can be used for the data transfer.

www.parallax.com/ProductInfo/Microcontrollers/BASICStampSoftware/StampPlotSoftware/tabid/481/Default.aspx

It is possible to attach external EEPROMs to a Stamp for data storage. It's much easier to just get a Stamp with more EEPROM storage. The BS2pe is designed specifically for datalogging and has 32K of EEPROM.
  • Adriano72Adriano72 Posts: 22
    edited 2009-05-13 14:36
    Dear Mike,

thank you for your quick reply. The Stamp Plot shall be very useful to me! But what if I would need to store more data than the BS2 memory can handle?