Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Hello! And parallax standard servo range of motion for 500-1000 pulsout durat — Parallax Forums

Hello! And parallax standard servo range of motion for 500-1000 pulsout durat

BogatyrBogatyr Posts: 2
edited 2009-05-12 23:19 in BASIC Stamp
Hello! I'm a new BS2 owner (Basic Discovery Kit) -- I'm a career software architect (I've always worked for HW companies though -- device drivers, some functional architectural HW design, HW/SW interfaces, etc.) with a smidgen of intro EE background (college) and a digital design lab (some combinational logic, flip-flops, registers, muxes, etc.) but no analog sensor / motor driving experience. I got the kit to introduce my kids (two boys, 12 and 14) to electronics and so far have been hogging the kit myself, re-learning the basics, having a blast. Built the 3-bit DAC via the R2R ladder from the Dietz EE course on the parallax CD and really had fun analyzing the circuit on paper, then building a working version that matched the theory. That's the sort of thing I hope to introduce my kids to, relating theory to practice and building fun things. So far the kit is proving a great investment, especially with all the downloadable materials.

I have a BoE board from a Basic Discovery Kit with a Parallax standard servo. I'm powering the BoE with a battery holder with 6 Nimh AAs, fairly high rated (4 2500 maH and 2 2000 maH). They're freshly charged and the Vin I'm seeing is > 8V. I've gone through the servo chapter in the What's a Microcontroller? book. I have the servo power jumper set to Vdd (5V, the way the board was set up). When trying out the example programs, I noticed that the 500 and 1000 PULSOUT durations only represented about 95-100 degrees of movement (similar to another user's post I found on this forum from a few weeks ago), leaving a considerable amount of mechanical range on both sides.