Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Project on basic stamp II — Parallax Forums

Project on basic stamp II

NtelosNtelos Posts: 21
edited 2009-05-24 05:55 in BASIC Stamp
Hello there,

I am new in basic stamp use and programming.

I bought basic stamp II for a homework for my University.

I also bought an IR sensor, working at 40KHz. It has transmitter and receiver in it.The code of the sensor is tsop1740.
How could i connect this sensor on basic stamp II and could you give me some tips for programming it?
(I would like to use the tsop1740 as a motion sensor. )

Thank you in advance

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2009-05-03 17:57
    You could look at the data for the Parallax IR receiver for some ideas but it won't be exactly the same so you will need to make adjustments to the code. I don't think you will get "motion sensing" since that is not what this device is designed to do. Take a look at the PIR sensor for motion sensor.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-05-03 18:44
    The TSOP1740 does not have a transmitter in it. It is only a receiver. From looking at the TSOP1740 datasheet, it appears to be similar to the IR detector sold by Parallax. It's not identical, but the sample programs for Parallax's sensor might work with the TSOP1740. Read the datasheet carefully and compare it to the device sold by Parallax.
  • NtelosNtelos Posts: 21
    edited 2009-05-03 19:52
    I found this:
    http://www.rentron.com/Micro-Bot/IR_Nav.htm
    Do you think it could work?

Thanks anyway
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-05-03 20:39