Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Temp Control (HVAC) — Parallax Forums

Temp Control (HVAC)

relengerrelenger Posts: 11
edited 2009-05-04 17:40 in BASIC Stamp
Im new to all this so i will do my best at decribing what i need to do.
Any help or direction with this would be great....

okay. i dont even know how to explain......

What im trying to do

i need to control a blower (motor)
Control would be based on a setting (Temp)
so the stamp needs to make a decision based on whatever the setting is set at.
The setting needs to be able to be set by the user, up or down (temp)

the hole thing im trying to do is
lets say the car cabin temp is 50
I want it to be 70
i set it to the HOT side
The basic stamp needs to figure out the temp (50) and turn the blower motor on until the temp reaches 65 - 70......·

i have hooked the stamp up to relays to turn the motor on and off and it worked as far as that goes.
i have not got a Temp sensor yet because i have no clue what on i need to make this all work.
I figure i can use a pot to control the temp setting?· ........·
any suggestions???

Later on i will add Heater duct control (floor/defrost·vent) ·and Hot/Cold (A/C)·Control

I also took a volt meter and measured the volts at the heater control knob.·it has 3 input 12Volt sources
and one out. but the out showed up like this 76mV.... im not sure what mV is?

Post Edited (relenger) : 5/2/2009 12:05:56 AM GMT

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2009-05-02 00:14
    Go to the parallax resourse page, stamps in class, What's a microcontroller and start there

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • $WMc%$WMc% Posts: 1,884
    edited 2009-05-02 01:53
    relenger

Its not as simple as turning on a blower fan.

For Heat: a valve must be opened that allows warm engine coolant to flow thought a heat exchanger inside the cab of the vehicle.
    for defrost the A/C compressor is run with the heat exchanger to help dry out the air.