Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Help — Parallax Forums

Help

AhmadAhmad Posts: 2
edited 2009-04-27 18:24 in BASIC Stamp
Dear guys,

I'm a PhD student and responsible for some master student working on a project to control a vehicle with facial expression.

I help them in image processing task and we are totally unfamiliar with BS2. We have a BS2 and MMC board at LAB. The aim of project is using a webcam to track face through MATLAB. MMC board is connected with serial port to PC. The X and Y coordinates of face is determined with image processing techniques and it should goes through serial port to BS2. The motor with an actuator can rotate webcam.

So when we send a position (between -180 to 180) degrees according to face coordinates, we want the webcam goes to new position.

Can anybody help us in the following problems:

1 - What is the program that should be uploaded to BS2? (The student don;t know anything about it, they are bio-engineer students)
2 - I'm familiar with MATLAB but I don;t know is there any specific routine to communicate through MATLAB with board real time or not or we can use regular commands (such as s = serial('s') , etc) here.

Any help/source code are completely welcome!

Best

Ahmad

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2009-04-27 17:40
    Ahmad,

This sounds like an interesting project!

Without a diagram of your general hardware setup, I can only guess at the relationship between all the parts. But, assuming the signal processing allows the PC to send the position to the Stamp. The Stamp will then drive the webcam's servo to the desired position.