Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
DS18S20 Temp Display — Parallax Forums

DS18S20 Temp Display

SG09SG09 Posts: 11
edited 2009-04-27 15:12 in BASIC Stamp
I am a complete beginner in both electronics and programming (please bear with me).· I am trying to log temperatures from several DS18S20s throughout a solar thermal heating system I am building.· To get my feet wet, I first went the route of building a simple serial COM port type device that I could just plug in to the back of a computer.·After I could not get it to work, I learned that the notebook I have does not put out enough voltage...· I then stumbled upon the Basic Stamp (BS2 Homework Board). What a great way to get started in this hobby!· I have had alot of fun assembling the simple circuits with my 12 year old son and we are learning a little more each time we sit down with it.· I also learned that you can't just plug in a sensor and go!

I then found Peter Anderson's parts kit (about $8) to enable the BS2 to talk with several DS18S20s (via a PIC 16F88) and have just finished it.· I took the example code from his site and ran it and it actually works, but it is not showing an accurate reading.· I have searched the archives but had no luck in figuring out what is wrong; it responds to changes in temperature, but it is way off.· My digital thermometer in my kitchen reads 23.3 C and the output from the BS2·is showing·2.87 ( I am assuming C).· If I put my finger on it, it will climb to around 3, or so.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

Bill

Comments

• Tracy AllenTracy Allen Posts: 6,662
    edited 2009-04-21 15:43
    In cases like this, it can help if you provide links, or attach code that you are using.

Be sure to distinguish the DS18S20 from the DS18B20. They have quite different scale factors.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Tracy Allen
    www.emesystems.com
  • SG09SG09 Posts: 11
    edited 2009-04-21 15:54
    Thanks Tracy,