Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Calibrating a Futaba S3003 servo for continuous rotation — Parallax Forums

Calibrating a Futaba S3003 servo for continuous rotation

NZ PeterNZ Peter Posts: 3
edited 2009-04-21 21:54 in BASIC Stamp
Hi, I am very new to the world of programming and the BS2 and I am wanting to find the center position for·a Futaba S3003 servo. I am using this code (bellow) to center them. This code was originally designed for centering a "standard" servo (i.e controlled by a 1-2ms pulse).·Using this code·my futaba servos do not move at all.·Can anyone please show me how to modify this code (or where I can find a better code) for the·servo that I have?

' Calibrate - Find the center/not moving piont for servo
' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.50}

' Variables
Servo········ PIN 15
CurrentDelay· VAR Word··· ' Servo Center Point
i············ VAR Byte

' Initialization/Mainline
LOW Servo·········· ' Set Servo pin low
CurrentDelay = 750· ' Start at 1.5 ms

DO
· DEBUG "Current Servo Delay Value = ", DEC CurrentDelay, CR
· FOR i = 0 TO 50·· ' Output servo value for 1 second
··· PULSOUT Servo, CurrentDelay
··· PAUSE 18······· ' 20 msec Cycle Time
· NEXT
· DEBUG "Enter in New Delay Value "
· DEBUGIN DEC CurrentDelay
· DO WHILE (Currentdelay < 500) OR (CurrentDelay > 1,000)
··· DEBUG "Invalid Value, Must be between 500 and 1,000", CR
··· DEBUG "Enter in New Delay Value"
··· DEBUGIN DEC Currentdelay
· LOOP
LOOP

·

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-04-21 05:28
    There's nothing wrong with the program you showed. Make sure you have the servo hooked up properly. Does the servo have power?
  • NZ PeterNZ Peter Posts: 3
    edited 2009-04-21 05:52
    Yes everything is connected properly and works for an Acoms servo that I also modified for continous rotation (I just checked to make sure). The futaba servo does a small rev when the external power supply is connected but does not respond when the code is run.