Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
[PROJ] Scanner 3D — Parallax Forums

[PROJ] Scanner 3D

JeanDJeanD Posts: 15
edited 2009-05-02 21:51 in BASIC Stamp
Hello everyone ! smile.gif
I'm Jean, a french student (well, I'm in my last year of high-school). I've been messing around with a BS2 this year in a school project (I can make a topic about it if someone is interested)
For two weeks now, I've been working on a top-secret project (Ooh :0). I think that I've got a neat idea, but I think sharing it with others would be enriching, plus I think that I'll have some problems so I'll probably need some help from you guys [noparse]:p[/noparse].
Codename : S3D

The·goal of this project·is to create a machine that can scan it's surrounding to create a point cloud, viewable in 3D on a computer.
After some search it seems that this kind of machine exists, but are quite expensive (starting at 100,000$).
So, my objective is to make such a machine but with a very low budget (under 1000$). Of course, mine won't be as performant as commerical ones, I aim at a cloud point of about 100,000 points and a maximum scanning range of 10 meters. Enough for indoor environnements

Theory and Principle

The scanner is composed of 3 main elements :
  • A laser distance sensor
  • A miror mounted on a rotative head (two axes of rotation)
  • The "brain" ( a microcontroller connected to a PC )
The laser emited by the sensor is·oriented by the miror on the rotative head.
The rotation of the head is driven by the microcontroller, which, at the same time, get the distance from the laser sensor.
So, for each position of the rotative head, we can get a single point of the space. This is achieved with trigonometry and three values physical values :
  • The distance from the mirror to the obstacle
  • The angle of the laser ray in XY
  • The angle of the ray in YZ
Here are schemas that explain the maths and geometry :