Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
In need of clarification... — Parallax Forums

In need of clarification...

sherifxsherifx Posts: 3
edited 2009-04-10 15:05 in BASIC Stamp
All,

Hello, my name is Sherif and I'm a car design student. With that I should clarify that I do not have any experience with electrical engineering or the more technical aspects involved with microprocessors though I soldered a robot kit once when I was young, though I don't think that'll inform me here.

I'm appealing to you all because I've been up and down the Parallax forums and site trying to decide what I should get for my intended job(s). As a car design student, I'm trying to find new ways to push the concept of vehicles forward and further illustrate some of the more elaborate ideas I have - as such, I think the STAMP maybe what I'm looking for: I would like to experiment with lighting, throughout the vehicle, flashing, pulsing creating effects similar to this dress ( but obviously less complex. Also, I'd like to find ways to make the body panels move, kind of like the BMW Gina concept ( and so forth.

That said, I'm not sure which stamp kit to get. I assume many will suggest the 'Discovery' but I'm not sure if has the ability to drive multiple servos (which I assume I'd need for the moving body panels as well as LEDs), yet at the same time I don't have experience programming... So I thought I would put it to you significantly more experienced people.

I hope I was clear (seeing as its late or early depending on your sleep pattern) and I explained my experience level and intended use sufficiently. If I left anything out - I will check back with some frequency to answer anything and thank you for your responses!

Regards
Sherif

Comments

• vaclav_salvaclav_sal Posts: 451
    edited 2009-04-09 16:16
    Sherif, welcome to the group.

You will find that you get better response from the forum if you have a specific problem.