Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Usb or serial — Parallax Forums

Usb or serial

map makermap maker Posts: 8
edited 2009-04-05 04:29 in BASIC Stamp
I am just getting into microprocessors with no experience at all.
But im dieing to start building my own simple components.

I am looking at starting with the discovery kit but can only get the Usb style from my local shop.
I want the serial type because i think it will be simplier.

My computer only has usb but im able to borrow my work computer and my pda has serial.

Would it better to spend a little more to get the serial or would i be better off getting the usb?

If anyone has any comments, i would appreciate it.
Thanks
Dan
·

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-04-04 16:11
    Why do you think the serial discovery kit would be simpler?
    It's much more important to find out what you're assuming or believing than our various opinions.
    You will get different opinions from different people and they are (of course) all correct.
  • Craig EidCraig Eid Posts: 106
    edited 2009-04-04 17:01
    Dan,

Do not be concerned about communicating with a microcontroller through the USB interface, as there are numerous tools available that allow you to seamlessly convert from Serial (RS-232) to USB. The Parallax BASIC Stamp development system supports USB through a virtual·Com port·and·PBasic·does not distinguish a difference between USB and Serial (RS-232).

Connecting a USB port to your computer requires·the installation of the appropriate drivers and a·USB to Serial (RS-232) adapter that is compatible with the Parallax development system. Parallax offers a few options based on the FTDI chipset -http://www.parallax.com/Store/Accessories/Tools/tabid/162/CategoryID/37/List/0/Level/a/ProductID/32/Default.aspx?SortField=ProductName%2cProductName·and http://www.parallax.com/StoreSearchResults/tabid/768/txtSearch/usb/List/0/SortField/4/ProductID/378/Default.aspx· .