Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Wiring Schematic — Parallax Forums

Wiring Schematic

singallssingalls Posts: 11
edited 2009-04-03 05:01 in BASIC Stamp
Hello everyone,

I purchased a Whats a Microcontroller package to start playing around with electronics, etc.· I have been a corporate programmer most of my life, so I have no problem understanding the Basic language.· What I am having problems with is reading the wiring schematic.· It is really easy to follow the diagram for plugging in stuff, but I would really like to understand the schematic.· Does anyone have a link or the like to explain this more?· I appreciate any help.

Steve

Comments

• Mike2545Mike2545 Posts: 433
    edited 2009-04-03 01:22
    What in particular don't you understand?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Mike2545

This message sent to you on 100% recycled electrons.
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2009-04-03 01:24
    Here is a whole slew of sites that can help. www.google.com/search?q=how+to+read+schematics&rls=com.microsoft:en-us&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&startIndex=&startPage=1

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • singallssingalls Posts: 11
    edited 2009-04-03 01:46
    Thanks for the quick responses. If you download·the manual (http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/books/edu/wamv2_2.pdf) I am confused with the diagram on page·90 - Figure 3-11.· I understand the top one, but am confused about the bottom one.

Steve
    edited 2009-04-03 01:50
    Sorry, that link is no good. Please try again...

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Mike2545

edited 2009-04-03 02:01
    Ok the vdd is + and the 10k resistor holds the pin low so that it does not float when you are not pressing the button. Floating pins sometimes give unpredictable conditions so you have to hold them one way o the other (+/-).

The 220ohm resistor just keeps the full vdd from going into the stamp when you press the button.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Mike2545

• singallssingalls Posts: 11