Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
EEPROM full — Parallax Forums

EEPROM full

KellyHKellyH Posts: 4
edited 2009-04-03 21:46 in BASIC Stamp
I'm writing a relatively simple program, and was not concerned with saving space (poor form, I know, but I'm new at this, and it's more of a means than and end), assuming I would have plenty of room. I was surprised when I found that my EEPROM was full. As I understand it, the amount of EEPROM I use depends on the number of program commands I use. Is that right? Are there any general ways to reduce the EEPROM size of a program?
Thanks,
Kell

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-04-02 22:53
    I'm guessing that your program has lots of DEBUG statements, right? Those eat up memory quite quickly. You can save memory by using acronyms (instead of "First Number: " use "N1:", etc.) If you post your program (as an attachment) then some specific recommendations can be made.
  • KellyHKellyH Posts: 4
    edited 2009-04-03 04:27
    Thanks- I do use a couple (although I wouldn't say lots) of DEBUG statements. It was my understanding that any given command uses essentially the same amount of EEPROM. But that isn't the case? I don't leave in DEBUGS that were actually for debugging, but I do use DEBUG and DEBUGIN as a makeshift GUI, which may be a bad idea, turns out.
    I had no idea that the length of variable names should be a consideration, either (like I said, new at this).
    There was also a particular subroutine that I wrote, then modified, then realized that there was a better way to implement, but was under pressure to get a functional product working and so I didn't make the changes I wanted to right away. So, I'm going back to fix that, and will shorten variable names. If that doesn't free up enough space, I will post again (with code).
    Thank you!
    Kell
  • SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-04-03 04:42