Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
serial communication with cell phone — Parallax Forums

serial communication with cell phone

jeffwhitemanjeffwhiteman Posts: 3
edited 2009-04-03 21:08 in BASIC Stamp
First let me introduce myself. My name is Jeff and I am new to the microcontroller world. I work for myself doing sales, installation,and service of automotive electronics.(unfortunately business is slow at the moment) I have an associates degree in EE. (12+ years ago)and have forgotten most of what I learned. I think I retained just enough to be considered dangerous! I have done a ton of reading on this site (you guys are great!) as well as various other sites in the internet abyss. My first (and only) project was to integrate a prepaid cell phone with a BS2. I was able to successfully construct a circuit to decode the DTMF from a call to lock, unlock, and start my vehicle. I was initially very pleased with myself.....naturally as you all know.......its never enough! What I would like to do now is connect the prepaid phone to the stamp and use SMS instead DTMF. This will allow for confirmation messages as well as GPS tracking (to come later). I know the GSM module is probably the way to go but they are much more expensive (only 10.00 for prepaid motorola phone) I have already figured out the AT commands and successfully controlled the phone using a usb cable to my pc and hyperterminal. If I havent lost you yet with my long winded paragragh, heres my question. Is it possible to connect the usb cable from my motorola w175 phone to the bs2? if so how? will it need drivers? This may seem like a dumb question but I am confused. Thanks for any help you can offer.

Jeff

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-04-02 15:52
    No, you can't do it.

The phone is a USB slave device and the BS2 is also a USB slave device (if you've got a USB to serial adapter). Two slave devices cannot communicate with each other.