Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need to buy new board? — Parallax Forums

Need to buy new board?

JugularJugular Posts: 8
edited 2009-03-22 04:27 in BASIC Stamp
Hello,

I am not sure how to title this exactly so I went with this.

Anyway I have the Homework board and am wanting to program myself a single bs2 chip that I can put on my own pcb. Is there a way that I can send the program to the new bs2 with the HW board or do I need to go about this a different way? Or would buying a carrier board be the simplest?

Also one more question simplified as much as I can. I am wanting to buy a keypad, 4x20 display, two hall effect sensors and one LM34 temp sensor. I believe there will be enough I/O pins to cover all these devices. I am planning on trying to place these items on my scooter (yeah i know its lame, but I think it would be fun). Im newer with this stuff and since im not an electrical engineer (ME actually [noparse]:D[/noparse] ) I was wondering if the bs2 can handle the two hall sensors and a temp sensor(doesn't have to update the temp but every few seconds or so) as well as the keypad input and the lcd output at the same time? Or would it be best for me to try to go to the propeller chip for the extra processors?

Basic setup:
1 hall sensor to determine engine rpm
1 hall sensor to determine speed of scooter
1 temp sensor for either ambient or engine temp, haven't looked up operating temp of the scoot yet
1 keypad to work a relay for push button start of engine instead of key use
1 lcd display to show speed, rpm, and temp on screen all at same time

Am I asking too much from one chip? I don't believe I am, but please correct me on any anything you see that will lead me in the right direction.

Thank in advance!

*edited for typo*

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-03-22 03:48