Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Servo motor control of a small solar panel — Parallax Forums

Servo motor control of a small solar panel

TuhawkTuhawk Posts: 2
edited 2009-03-22 13:47 in BASIC Stamp
I'm new to Basic stamp (I have a BS2 on BOE Rev. C). I'm trying to figure out how to make the servo motor, with solar panel attached mechanically track the sun. I have been able to get the motor to react with the photoresistor. I can make it turn by varying the amount of light but have been unable to make it seek out the brightest light. Any help?

Comments

• JonathanJonathan Posts: 1,023
    edited 2009-03-17 20:31
    Use two photo-ressitors. Place them a few inches apart. Put a small, short tube on each one. Read the sensors, and have your progam look for the brightest spot on BOTH sensors. Of course, they won't read *exactly* the same, so you will need to add a little fudge factor.

Jonathan

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    www.madlabs.info - Home of the Hydrogen Fuel Cell Robot
  • TuhawkTuhawk Posts: 2
    edited 2009-03-17 20:46
    This is my code:
    DEBUG " Value"
    time VAR Word
    DO
    HIGH 7
    PAUSE 10
    RCTIME 7, 1, time
    time = time */ 170 ' Scale by 0.4 (X 256 for */). This value is max pulses divided by 500
    time = time + 500 ' Offset by 510. (this is to make the value fall between 500 and 1000)
    PULSOUT 14, time ' Send pulse to servo.
    DEBUG HOME, DEC5 time ' Display adjusted time value.

LOOP

I Sure i am missing something to help it seek the brightest light. Thank you Jonathan fot the idea of using two photo resistors but I'm not sure what to add. Possibly some type of IF.. Then Else statement?
  • SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-03-18 04:46