Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
School project! need help! — Parallax Forums

School project! need help!

asianjunasianjun Posts: 2
edited 2009-03-14 04:19 in BASIC Stamp
I am extremely new to circuits and things related to it, but i have a project for school and i need assistance on how to program a basic stamp to act as a receiver for a sensor and interpret data to sense distance and direction.

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-03-12 05:38
    Parallax has lots of information available to help you. The tutorials can be found by going to the main Parallax webpage and clicking on the Resources tab, then choosing the Downloads link, then the Stamps in Class Downloads link (to here: www.parallax.com/tabid/535/Default.aspx). Start with "What's a Microcontroller?".

If you're using Parallax sensors, the webstore page for the product always has links to documentation and sample code for the product.
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2009-03-12 11:29
    Do you have the sensor ? What kind of sensor is it ? Ultrasonic ? InfraRed ?

Do you have a basic stamp ? If so which one ? BS2, BS2sx, BS2px, etc.

Do you have any code written ? Do you have a flowchart ? Do you have a plan ?

Tell us something like:
    · I need to connect a Ping ultrasonic sensor to a BS2p and display the distance measured on a parallax serial LCD.

· Here is my plan:
    ··· 1) Initialize LCD
    ··· 2) Read Ping sensor
    ··· 3) Convert reading to inches
    ··· 4) Display inches on the LCD
    ··· 5) Goto step 2

Bean.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
    There is a fine line between arrogance and confidence. Make sure you don't cross it...

·
  • asianjunasianjun Posts: 2
    edited 2009-03-14 04:01
    I don't know what sensor to use, but my idea is to use an RF, i do not have a basic stamp in mind. i do not have a code written, i need help with that, i just have the idea of what i want it to do.