Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
help understanding stepper motor code — Parallax Forums

help understanding stepper motor code

texastigertexastiger Posts: 5
edited 2009-03-10 15:02 in BASIC Stamp
I am new to using the basic stamp and I am still learning the language. I downloaded and ran the stepper motor code for a BS2. It works fine but I would like to understand it fully. I have attached the edited code showing my comments in the code blocks that baffle me. Any help in understanding this would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Lee HarkerLee Harker Posts: 104
    edited 2009-03-09 17:36
    I'll take a stab at it.

Step_Fwd:
      stpIdx = stpIdx + 1 // 4

Step_Rev:
      stpIdx = stpIdx + 3 // 4

This part of the code the math that is being done either counts from 0 to 3 or 3 to 0 one value at a time. I don't know how the author came to this use but it is an elegant approach.

Do_Step:
      READ (Steps + stpIdx), Phase

Here the step index is used to pick the correct phase combination from the list to move the motor.
  • texastigertexastiger Posts: 5
    edited 2009-03-09 17:58
    Lee

Ok I understand that stpIdx is used as an index therefore it will increment. What I dont know is:

Why is stpIdx not initialized? I am assuming that each time the program is run stpIdx has no starting value. Seems like bad programming form. I was always instructed to initialize a variable if you want consistent results. Of course I am assuming that an unitialized variable in PBasic has no value?

If 1//4 always return 1 and stpIdx has a starting value of zero then stpIdx will have the following values: 1 , 2, 3, 4

If 3//4 always returns 3 and stpIdx has a starting value of zero then stpIdx will have the following values: 3,6,9,12

What am I missing?

The next area I am confused about is in the Do_Step block. The Read statement has (Steps + stpIdx), Phase