Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Counter Using A Hall Effect — Parallax Forums

Counter Using A Hall Effect

Bob RobinsonBob Robinson Posts: 1
edited 2009-03-04 22:53 in BASIC Stamp
Hello, I am totally new to working with electronics. I purchased a board of education with the basic 2 stamp.

I work for a municipal water department. We are going to have a local community expo and I have been ask to setup a booth. What I plan to do is to take a water meter and hook it up and flow a trickle of water thru it. To show the customers that the meter can register that small amount of water flowing thru the meter. I took a meter register apart and placed a South Pole Hall Effect Sensor next to the magnet. When the south pole of the magnet stars approaching the sensor it detects it. Then after the south pole leaves the area the sensor drops it.

I·wrote a simple program that will light an led and·display a (number)·on an 4X20 LCE display when the sensor is activated. My problem is·that·the·magnet moves·slowly past·the sensor and the program loops so fast that insted of only advancing 1 number per revolution it·advances many times. Also the·number resets back to 0 when it counts 254.
Could someone write a sample loop script to help me with this problem?
Also how to keep counting above 254.

Thank you.

Robert Robinson

Comments

• Mike2545Mike2545 Posts: 433
    edited 2009-03-04 16:34
    Post your program and maybe we can help.

It sounds like you need to change your variable to a word not a byte and use pulse in.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Mike2545

This message sent to you on 100% recycled electrons.
  • stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2009-03-04 18:06
    Once we see your code, we'll be able to help better.