Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
I have some questions: — Parallax Forums

I have some questions:

James HarrisonJames Harrison Posts: 4
edited 2009-03-02 13:05 in BASIC Stamp
Hello all,

I am new to the Parallax products and this forum, but so far have really enjoyed the controller I purchased. I have a Revision D Basic Stamp 2, which was purchased from Radio Shack.

I have some questions:

I saw on the main Parallax web site that there are LCD displays available to connect to the Basic Stamp controllers. Can I connect an LCD display to my controller and if yes, which one will work? I saw some of the LCD monitors use serial or I2C communications and strangely enough there are Basic commands for these. Some kind of Accessory computability matrix would be useful.

Am I limited to Basic? Is there an assembly language IDE and compiler. I am sure the basic is compiled into machine code somewhere along the way.

Am I limited to the 2K EEPROM? Has anyone tried to compile Linux on this? Would it even work?

From the examples in the manual, I am only able to make the stepper motor rotate a fraction of the way around. How would you make the stepper motor rotate 360 deg?

I know on most CPUs there is the idea of an interrupt that runs runs some code along side of the main program. My only experience of such a thing was with the Commodore 64 and its IRQ interrupt. Its function was to run periodically and maintain the up keep of the machine, read the keyboard etc. Is there anything line this with Basic Stamp systems?

Thanks for any help.

Regards,

James Harrison

Post Edited By Moderator (Joshua Donelson (Parallax)) : 10/23/2009 4:13:47 AM GMT

Comments

• UghaUgha Posts: 543
    edited 2009-02-28 12:24
    First... Welcome to the forum!

Parallax's basic stamp forum is one of the best sources for information on getting started with microcontrollers there are. In addition, the people are friendly and helpful.

Now... your questions: