Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Controlling a LCD display, problems/questions on where to start — Parallax Forums

Controlling a LCD display, problems/questions on where to start

JomsJoms Posts: 279
edited 2009-03-04 03:25 in Propeller 1
I am fairly new to the propeller code, been through chapter 3 of the manual, starting my first project but have a few questions...
·
I am attempting to control an LCD display built into a push button surface that I asked about awhile back in a post.· I was able to find a spec sheet from the manufacturer that gives me a pin-out and a timing diagram.· Here’s that I am thinking, but where I am wrong can someone set me straight....
·
1.· I am trying to build this as its own object to be called upon by the main program, just like the TV_terminal function.
·
2.· Is there an easy way to line up the Serial Clock Pulse, Data out of the Propeller, Latch Pulse, and First Line Marker?
·
3.· I was trying to make the frequencies just like we used the toggle function in the tutorial, but I can only get one to put out the right frequency at a time.· (regarding the Serial Clock Pulse, Latch Pulse, and First Line Marker)
·
At this time I am not worrying about the backlight or button function, the goal is just to produce an letter, or work on the LCD display.· I am not asking someone to right this for me, but just point me in the right direction or 'get me going'.
·
When I get this Object completed I will be more then willing to share it, or post it in the object exchange, because I think these buttons are very, very neat to a lot of people, and many people would probably love them on their projects.
·
I have attached a few pictures of the datasheet.· I tried to post the whole sheet but it was too large.

THANKS!
743 x 591 - 41K
1066 x 621 - 84K
895 x 443 - 36K

Comments

• telluriantellurian Posts: 52
    edited 2009-02-28 06:40
    Joms said...