Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Using the #27977 dislay — Parallax Forums

Using the #27977 dislay

elabuddeelabudde Posts: 6
edited 2009-03-15 15:22 in BASIC Stamp
Hi all, newbie here. I just purchased a #27977 LCD display because it has a one wire interface.

I have programmed a 16F88 with Great Cow Basic see: http://gcbasic.sourceforge.net/

It has syntax similar to Pic Basic.
I use this to set up the USART: InitSer 1, r2400, 1, 8, 1, none, invert.

I use invert so as to reproduce the waveform shown here for the letter “K” (see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/RS-232).
I can send this data using sersend 1, 75 (dec value for “K&#8221[noparse];)[/noparse] or serprint 1, “K” . I have verified that both commands are identical and exactly the same as see on Wiki

The LCD display prints out mostly HiHiHi and a few * and \. The funny thing is that it never puts out the same character twice! Question: is the format for the display normal or inverted? Is it 2400, 1, 8, 1 no parity? I have tried all combinations of parity (none, even, odd) and normal and inverted nothing works! Any suggestions as to what I am doing wrong?

Much thanks, Ed.

Here is the code:
#chip 16F88, 8
#config INTRC_IO

#define SendAHigh Set PORTB.2 on
#define SendALow Set PORTB.2 off
#define Button PORTA.0

Dir Button In 'pin 17
Dir PORTB.2 Out 'pin 8
Wait 150 ms

InitSer 1, r2400, 1, 8, 1, none, invert

Do

SerSend 1, 75
wait 100 ms
serprint 1, "K"
Wait 100 ms
Loop

Comments

• ZootZoot Posts: 2,227
    edited 2009-02-24 22:17
    The LCD is TTL level serial, so don't invert. RS-232 is inverted with neg/pos voltages for transmission to PCs and the like over long wires.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    When the going gets weird, the weird turn pro. -- HST

1uffakind.com/robots/povBitMapBuilder.php
    1uffakind.com/robots/resistorLadder.php
  • elabuddeelabudde Posts: 6
    edited 2009-02-24 22:25