Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Stamp LED Control & Electronics Books — Parallax Forums

Stamp LED Control & Electronics Books

MysticalMatt517MysticalMatt517 Posts: 2
edited 2009-02-26 04:34 in BASIC Stamp
This is probably a pretty simple question, but I'm a raw newbie to the world of electronics and stamps.

I just read through the PDF of the "What's a Microcontroller" book to get an idea of how the stamps work. I see that you can control an LED using a resistor and having the stamp control the power flow.

It seems to me that the number of LED's you can control is limited by the outputs available on the stamp. I'd like to control 50 - 100 LED's... Not individually of course. I'd be fine to wire them in series so that they all turn on / off.

(Ideally it would be like a string of Christmas lights hooked to one stamp output)

The first problem that comes to mind is power. I'm thinking there's probably not of enough amperage to make this work. Is it possible to hook the LED's to a seperate power source and still have the stamp control a switch?

Finally, can anyone reccomend a *really good* beginner book on building electronic circuits? I'd love to learn, but most of the stuff I've found online is either really shallow or over my head...

Comments

• JomsJoms Posts: 279
    edited 2009-02-24 23:22
    That is very possible. A very low tech way to do it would be to use a relay. I would really recomend looking at DC solid state relay. This would be all electronic and allow the stamp to control leds or any other load powered by another power source.
  • SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-02-24 23:50