Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Twin motor rc mixer need... any suggestion!!! — Parallax Forums

Twin motor rc mixer need... any suggestion!!!

NellyNelly Posts: 2
edited 2009-02-20 17:59 in BASIC Stamp
I am currently working on a remote control airplane with twin electric engines. I would like to control the amount of thrust to each engine by mixing the throttle with the rudder channel. I believe the best place to do this is between the radio receiver and the motor esc, which would require two inputs and two outputs. I have no previous experience with programming. What are my best options for learning and creating this mixer?

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2009-02-20 02:19
    Write it out as if you were explaining it to a person with no knowledge of airplanes and this person had to accomplish what you want. Take what you get and group it into small tasks and then code those tasks.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • Carl HayesCarl Hayes Posts: 841
    edited 2009-02-20 03:49
    Franklin said...
    Write it out as if you were explaining it to a person with no knowledge of airplanes and this person had to accomplish what you want. Take what you get and group it into small tasks and then code those tasks.

That is the wisest and best advice I've seen in a long time.· It's so easy to do, and it so greatly clarifies your thinking and prevents so many bonehead errors.

One way to follow that advice is to write it out in words.· This is OK but is slow.

Anothe way is to create a simple flow chart -- which is just a shorthand form of those instructions for the beginner.· I always do a flowchart for any program that I expect to take more than ten minutes to write.· It saves me untold heartburn.· Usually it's just scribbled on a palimpsest -- I'm always running out of paper -- but it makes all the difference in the world.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    · -- Carl, nn5i@arrl.net
    edited 2009-02-20 04:27