Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
heart rate monitor Receiver — Parallax Forums

heart rate monitor Receiver

BlueClementsBlueClements Posts: 1
edited 2009-02-19 03:34 in BASIC Stamp
First let me say that I am very new to electronics. I have gone through most of the "what's a microcontroller?" text over the course of the past few weeks, but that is the extent of it.

I am trying to make a project using a heart rate monitor and receiver. The basic idea is that the position of a servo will be directly related to my heart rate. I have a transmitter strap which gives off a 5 MHz pulse with every heart beat it detects and I just bought this receiver circuit: http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8661

Honestly, I don't totally understand this thing. There are several options to attach it to a computer, and I think that for the basic stamp I want to use the logic-level physical interface. So there are four slots (I don't know the right jargon) Marked 5V, GND, RX-I/SDA, and TX-O/SCL

What I assume should happen is that I connect "5V" to the Vdd and GND to Vss, then can the RX-I and TX-O attach to any of the slots P0-P15? Does the basic stamp receive a "on/off" type signal from the receiver circuit?

I hope that these questions make sense. I'm not totally sure what I am dealing with and the manuals for the basic stamp and the Heart rate monitor interface are not helping.

Thankyou,

Blue

Comments

• TMGTMG Posts: 6
    edited 2009-02-19 00:53
    I don't have a clue how to help on your project, other than to say that I'm a beginner as well. By the time we both understand all of this, no doubt we will be rich beyond rich - right! Anyway, stick with it - good luck.

Terry
  • FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2009-02-19 02:19
    Looks like you need to talk to the device using TTL serial or !2C protocol. check the stamp manual for serin and serout for the TTL stuff.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen