Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Big voltage H-Bridge DC motor control — Parallax Forums

Big voltage H-Bridge DC motor control

technoobtechnoob Posts: 21
edited 2009-02-14 20:27 in BASIC Stamp
I have seached the entire internet and have found countless H-bridge type motor controlers.· some with logic·, i2c and radio control interfaces.·· Some with just a throttle Pot.
····· Every one of them wants between 80 and 150+ dollars.· I want to build my own.·· I have found alot of shematics for low v and low amp devices but I cant find designs and parts lists for the big Voltage stuff.·
I need a schematic and parts list for a simple motor H Bridge dc motor controller.·

48 volts
30 amps
60 amp peak.

big heat sink

If anyone knows of a web site or whatnot
Id appreciate a shove in the right direction.···

Im kinda new to this stuff so be gentle..

thanks
Randy C

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-02-12 06:21
    Can't you just use relays instead of transistors for the motor power part? Then, you can just select four relays of the size you need.
  • technoobtechnoob Posts: 21
    edited 2009-02-12 07:15
    I tried using a relay and experienced an unplesant smell and a slight blinding affect when i hit the switch.· Since the motor isnt running its start up load is significant.· It acts like a short circuit until it gets spinning and the load drops.·

R,I,P. 24v relay

rc
  • GeekgirlGeekgirl Posts: 50
    edited 2009-02-12 12:23
    That initial inrush current is the killer.·

What you may want to look into is using IGBTs as switches for those load demands, as opposed to mosfets, though mosfets could still be an option if you parallel enough of them.

Big solid state tesla coils use H bridges designed to handle mega loads and studying up on the coiler sites would get you familliar with H bridge design·of that power level.