Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
I'm looking for help in safely connecting my BS2 to a 12volt auto electrical sy — Parallax Forums

I'm looking for help in safely connecting my BS2 to a 12volt auto electrical sy

slmranchslmranch Posts: 3
edited 2009-02-12 16:33 in BASIC Stamp
I'm new at this and looking for some guidance. I want to connect my BS2 to a 12 volt automotive system. From forum searches, Google searches, etc., I understand that I need to protect my BS2 from inductance voltage spikes by using something called a flyback diode. Correct? I read that it should go as close to the load as possible. The load in this case is my BS2, not a transformer as most diagrams show?

I have a positive and negative wire coming off of the accessory terminal of the key switch to a plug on my project box. Is it correct that the diode would go across the BS2 pins Vin and Vss, but inverted with the anode(+) to Vss and the cathode(-) to Vin?

And...because an alternator puts out higher voltages for awhile after starting (to recharge the battery), would it be safer for the BS2 if I were to use a couple of resistors as a voltage divider before I connect to the Vin? Something to drop the voltage down around 9 volts, but still high enough to allow the BS2's on board regulator to do it's job?

Or, if I going about this all wrong please set me straight.

Thank You in advance,
Steve

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2009-02-11 18:23
    Steve,