Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Array of bits to shiftout — Parallax Forums

Array of bits to shiftout

pohopoho Posts: 3
edited 2009-02-12 02:20 in BASIC Stamp
Hi Everyone,

Im pretty new to the whole basic stamp thing, but have been programming in various laguages for many years (unfortunately none of which were basic). Anyways, im working on restoring a pinball machine which has ~45 lights on it and ~23 switches, as well as some 50v solenoids, all to be controlled by a BS2sx chip. I have made a controller board of 74hc4094's for my lights which i have gotten working using a for-loop. The place where im storing the lights status (0 or 1) is an array of bits. Heres what i want to do: use shiftout to dump that array of bits to my light controller board, however it doesnt seem to be working. Here is my for loop to get a better idea:

pinStatus VAR Bit(MAX_PINS)

FOR loopCounter = 0 TO (MAX_PINS - 1)
    currentPin = (MAX_PINS - 1) - loopCounter
    IF (pinStatus(currentPin) = 0) THEN
      SERIAL = IsOff
    ELSE
      SERIAL = IsOn
    ENDIF
    CLOCK = 1
    CLOCK = 0
  NEXT
PULSOUT Strobe,1

EDIT: i should mention here that CLOCK, SERIAL, Strobe are PIN vars (although they are consts in the below example) and MAX_PINS is a const currently defined as 45 (which i should probably move up to 48)

Ideally i want to replace it with something like this:
SHIFTOUT 1, 2, MSBPRE, [noparse][[/noparse]pinStatus]
      PULSOUT Strobe,1

which im hoping will be well faster, however its the passing of pinStatus to shifout which is giving me grief. Ive tried a few different combinations such as:
SHIFTOUT 1, 2, MSBPRE, [noparse][[/noparse]pinStatus]
SHIFTOUT 1, 2, MSBPRE, [noparse][[/noparse]pinStatus(0)]
SHIFTOUT 1, 2, MSBPRE, [noparse][[/noparse]pinStatus(0)\16] (to get only the first 16 statuses)
and even
SHIFTOUT 1, 2, MSBPRE, [noparse][[/noparse]pinStatus(0)\16, pinStatus(0)>>16\16, pinStatus(0)>>32\16]