Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Remote Gate Sensor Project — Parallax Forums

Remote Gate Sensor Project

snyderm4nsnyderm4n Posts: 1
edited 2009-02-10 23:37 in Learn with BlocklyProp
My name is Christian Snyder and I am a Mechanical Engineering student at Southern Methodist University.· I am currently in a design team that consists of 7 mechanical engineering students and no electrical or computer science engineers.· The project given to our team is to design and build a remote gate/alarm system for a visually impaired person.· We have decided to use a magnetic sensor that can detect if the gate is open or closed with a RF module to send and receive information to and from a remote.· The complete system will need to be able to receive a signal from the remote to check for the status of the gate, the gate component will need to send back a signal indicating if the gate is open or closed.· The system will also need to send a signal notifying the owner when the gate is opened.· Since the “product” will be designed for the visually impaired we have decided to use varying tones as the indicators on the remote as well as a vibrating motor.· My team is researching RF modules, microprocessors and other required components but this project is outside of our scope as mechanical engineers so we are looking for help or guidance on this project.·
·
Thank you,
Christian Snyder
csnyder@smu.edu

Comments

• Jessica UelmenJessica Uelmen Posts: 490
    edited 2009-02-10 20:24
    Hi Christian,

Parallax has a variety of resources available to help get you up to speed with the electrical and programming side of this project. It's best to start with What's a Microcontroller. This text is available for free on our website at www.parallax.com -> Downloads -> Stamps in Class Downloads. The entire book will familiarize you with programming in PBASIC, and the following chapters will be of particular interest to you:

Chapter 3: Digital Input - Pushbuttons