Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Aggrivated with Interfacing Labview to BS2 — Parallax Forums

Aggrivated with Interfacing Labview to BS2

rage404rage404 Posts: 17
edited 2009-02-08 06:19 in BASIC Stamp
Hey all,
I've been working on using Labview with the BS2. I want to click a button in labview and run a program on the BS2. Has anyone created a program that can perform this task? All i want is to flash a led.

High 2
Pause 500
Low 2
pause 500

Instigated by some input·from labview.

If I could get this to work it seems like i could figure all the more complicated stuff out.
I am a mechanical engineer so if you are gracious enough to help me out I would appretiate it if it were lower level explanation, else I will just be more confused and aggrivated

Jeff

Post Edited (rage404) : 2/2/2009 3:38:18 AM GMT

Comments

• PJAllenPJAllen Banned Posts: 5,065
    edited 2009-02-01 20:03
    ·Assuming you know how to generate a signal from LabView.· This program will wait for an input pin (LV_input) to go HI then it will drop through and execute the hi/lo lines.· [noparse][[/noparse]You'll have to declare the pin an input, etc.]
    Main:
     IF LV_input = 0 THEN Main 
     High 2
     Pause 500
     Low 2 
     pause 500

GOTO Main

• rage404rage404 Posts: 17
    edited 2009-02-01 20:20
    Maybe I should add some details.
    I am communicating between my computer and the BS2 by means of a serial cable. I am looking to use the serin serout commands. My program may be working since I can use the debug terminal to activate my LED blink.

It seems that the issue is with LabVIEW. How can I get it to recognize a usb to serial adapter?

Any labview experts out there?
    Jeff
    edited 2009-02-01 20:26
    You need LabView to recognize a COM port is all, I think.

http://www.parallax.com/dl/sw/labviewbs2.pdf

Please advise as to your progress.
    edited 2009-02-01 20:30