Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Did I buy this well? — Parallax Forums

Did I buy this well?

elioteliot Posts: 5
edited 2009-01-28 04:56 in BASIC Stamp
·HI, I'm a 13 year old student and I've just taken robotics as my hobby.
By taking advice from various sites and books, I've been informed
that the Parallax Boe Bot-USB Full Kit is the best robotics kit for the
COMPLETE beginner on robotics. So, I've decided to
give it a try and have purchased the Parallax Boe bot.
But then... when I visited this site a minute ago,
I·found out that the complete beginner's robotics kit
was the Basic Stamp2 Discovery Kit (or something like that , the one that costs a 160 bucks).
That's why right now, I'm really worrying if I made the right choice
getting the boe bot as my complete(please excuse my emphasis on the word "complete)·beginner's robotic kit.
The main question is, did I make a right choice in buying
the boe bot as my beginner robotic' kit?
And if I didn't, what product should I have bought?
I mean, I'm a kid who knows absolutely
nothing about electronics, mechanics, programming, and basic robotics.
Thank you!

ps. (please answer this) right now, I have the book "robotics with the boebot" and "
getting started in electronics." I'm thinking of buying "whats a microcontroller?" before
reading "robotics with the boe bot."· Is this a good choice? Thank you
Also, can you guys recommend some beginner mechanism,programming,or electronics book?
Thank you!

·

Comments

• MovieMakerMovieMaker Posts: 502
    edited 2009-01-28 03:59
    Don't worry, Parallax will work with you. Also, you have so many days to return the merchandise for a complete refund, I believe. Just ask for help and you will get it.
  • elioteliot Posts: 5
    edited 2009-01-28 04:12
    thanks, but where do I get the help?
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2009-01-28 04:48