Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Cascading 7219 chips — Parallax Forums

Cascading 7219 chips

Chris DunnChris Dunn Posts: 5
edited 2009-01-23 21:48 in BASIC Stamp
Need some help with code around the 7219 chips. (Bear with me as I’m still learning the stamp language). I’m basing my project on Jon’s NV article that was published a couple of years ago, but have modified it with 2 5x7 matrix’s and 2 7219 chips. What my end game is to do is take a text (let’s say “Hello World&#8221[noparse];)[/noparse] string a scroll it horizontally across the 2 displays. With Jon’s code, I can get the same data (right now just numbers)·on both displays and other combinations of differet data on the 2 displays.

I think I’m running into 2 issues, the 1st is to lookup the column data for each character in the string from eeprom. The next issues is to take that data and loop across it column by column and have the code output 10 columns (5 columns each) at a time to the 2 chips. Any guidance would be great.

Comments

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2009-01-22 01:27
    Chris, cascading the display drivers is pretty straight forward and is covered on page 13 of the datasheet. As for cascading in code, you need to SHIFTOUT the data for the 2nd device first (2 bytes) followed by the data for the second device and then you pulse the load line. If you still have questions let me know. Take care.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Chris Savage
    Parallax Engineering
  • Chris DunnChris Dunn Posts: 5
    edited 2009-01-23 20:08