Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
ping))) speed detector — Parallax Forums

ping))) speed detector

irivineirivine Posts: 18
edited 2009-01-14 17:07 in BASIC Stamp
hi

i am a student currently working on a project that uses products from parallax

i have bought the following product from parallax
1) ping))) ( http://www.parallax.com/Store/Sensors/ObjectDetection/tabid/176/CategoryID/51/List/0/Level/a/ProductID/92/Default.aspx?SortField=ProductName%2cProductName)
2)BS2
3)lcd display (http://www.parallax.com/Store/Accessories/Displays/tabid/159/CategoryID/34/List/0/Level/a/ProductID/50/Default.aspx?SortField=ProductName%2cProductName·)
4)math coprocessor (http://www.parallax.com/Store/Microcontrollers/BASICStampModules/tabid/134/txtSearch/coprocessor/List/1/ProductID/244/Default.aspx?SortField=ProductName%2cProductName)

I am suppose to make a device that have 2 program:
1) a program that can display the distance(part 1)·and the speed(part 2)·the device is moving on the lcd screen using the ping )))
2) a program that can can be place on a doorway and detector the number of passbyer and display the count on the lcd screen

I have manage to get the distance(part 1)·of program 1 and program 2 done ... but i am still having problem with the speed

Problems encounter:
1)in the code , i could get the speed in cm/hr , but the value appear *****.*** when it reach the maximum the ping))) can detect· (which·is·3100·cm) , how do i solve this problem ?
2)Regarding the speed·reading i want , i·am not sure if i am·heading in the right direction
· i·would like to make it into this kind of device(llustrate with situation)

Situation:
i am holding this device , there is an object in front of me , when i moved towards or away from it , it shows the speed i am moving at. if i am not moving the speed·, it will show (an example) 0 cm/hr.

how do i edit my code to allow it to get the program i want?

All helps are appreciated ! smilewinkgrin.gif

Thanks you