Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
LCD terminal AppMod — Parallax Forums

LCD terminal AppMod

LutamosLutamos Posts: 26
edited 2009-01-13 18:14 in BASIC Stamp
I bout this LCD because of the buttons thought I could use them for later uses. I am finding that it is harder to program and do what I want with this LCD than a serial LCD. I am studying the demo code for it trying to figure out how to get it to work and been scan the forums to see if there is someone with my issue. I am wanting to use the LCD for the debug terminal with the thermometer chip. If some one could post a url of some sample code or some code of how to get the stamp to send the debug info to this LCD be greatly welcomed.

Thank you
Lutamos

Comments

• sylvie369sylvie369 Posts: 1,622
    edited 2009-01-10 16:31
    I had a hard time finding this thread, but here's my best effort at making this simpler:

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=771280

I had to include my username in the search to find it, so I can see why you couldn't find it.

The key parts of the code related to the buttons are these:

(in the declarations[noparse]:)[/noparse]

buttons VAR Nib
    btnA    VAR buttons.BIT0 ' left-most button
    btnB    VAR buttons.BIT1
    btnC    VAR buttons.BIT2
    btnD    VAR buttons.BIT3 ' right-most

This declares a nibble-sized (that is, 4 bit) variable "buttons", and then names each of those 4 bits. The variables btnA, btnB, btnC and btnD are just the 4 bits that make up the variable "buttons".

LCD_Get_Buttons:
    LcdDirs = %0000                    ' make LCD bus inputs
    buttons = %1111                    ' assume all pressed
    FOR scan = 1 TO 10
      buttons = buttons & LcdBusIn     ' make sure button held
      PAUSE 5                          ' debounce 10 x 5 ms
    NEXT
    LcdDirs = %1111                    ' return bus to outputs
    RETURN

The comments for that part of the code make it pretty clear what's happening, I think.