Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How can SMS message activate Confetti Machine? — Parallax Forums

How can SMS message activate Confetti Machine?

sophiasophia Posts: 4
edited 2009-01-14 22:11 in BASIC Stamp
I am a Detroit based architecture student working on my thesis project that involves specific technology and programming that I am not capable of carrying out. I am in the beginning stages of research and in brief my project involves a cell phone sending a specific text message to a computer (or cell phone) that then activates a confetti blowing machine. I have attached a simple illustration of this action. Also here is a link to an example of the type of machine that will be activated.
http://www.artistryinmotion.com/equipment/equipment.html
I would greatly appreciate any help on where to start, what parts I will need, details on coding and if this is a basic task that a novice could configure and if not I will be looking for someone willing to produce this part of the project for me.
Kind Regards,
Sophia
1650 x 1275 - 149K

Comments

• remmi870remmi870 Posts: 79
    edited 2009-01-08 23:51
    you could use a stamp, the easy way would be to buy a chap cell phone with a vibration setting and sms capability, something like a track phone or go phone so its a cheap investment, then open the phone, find the motor, solder the output to some leads or maby a head phone jack so you can move the phone, then you could probably use the BS2 oem and a simple breadboard to wait for the sms signal to set the vibrate function on your phone, that will run the stamp that can run a solenoid, motor, smal servo, whatever you need to run the confetti machine, the programing is nothing, just timing from a input.