Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Inverted pendulum robot: Complementary filters — Parallax Forums

Inverted pendulum robot: Complementary filters

Alexandre_PVAlexandre_PV Posts: 4
edited 2009-01-07 23:15 in Propeller 1
Hello,

I'm studing Robotics at The University of Plymouth and I'm currently in my final year. My final year project is a robot that balances itself on a ball and uses the Propeller Chip as its main processor. These are two pictures of the base of the robot, not yet finished:

http://img508.imageshack.us/my.php?image=1002654smallwp0.jpg

http://img444.imageshack.us/my.php?image=1002655smallxx2.jpg

The robot uses stepper motors as main actuators, with encoders for stall detection, one MCP3208 12bit ADC and two IMU 2Dof boards (one for X and one for Y). I have modified an assembly program called "MCP3208_fast.spin" to sample all channels at 1.5Khz each and loop forever without never returning from the assembly code, it writes the values to the main memory directly. I'm now trying to figure out a way to fuse the accelerometers and the gyroscopes to get a true angle posivion and angular velocity for each axis. I bet you are gonna say "Kalman Filter!" but no, I would like to use a simple complementary filter aproach. The kalman filter source codes I've found so far available for download either use too many cogs (and still require further modification for my aplication) or use an FPU which I don't have. I know that the complementary filter approach works fine because I've seen other projects that tried it out and succeded. I would like to ask if anyone here knows how to code a low/high pass filter in propeller assembly. That is all I need to know in order to move on to the main control phase of my project. Any comments about my projects are welcome.

Regards,

Alex

Comments

• SRLMSRLM Posts: 5,045
    edited 2009-01-07 00:25
    I reproduced the images inline:

my.php?image=1002654smallwp0.jpg

my.php?image=1002655smallxx2.jpg