Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newbie Needs Help! — Parallax Forums

Newbie Needs Help!

bkirkbybkirkby Posts: 6
edited 2009-01-07 20:14 in BASIC Stamp
I am totally new to BASIC, Stamps, programming, etc. but have decided I want to learn on a project I am trying to make. I need some help though...

What I am trying to do:
Build a population clock using Nixie tubes for the numeric display. Basically a clock that, roughly, adds 2.5 units to a pre-defined number once the clock is started.

What I need:
To be pointed in the right direction...
I am thinking that I want to build this using BASIC cause I can program that on my Mac, using MACBS2. Will this work for the above project?
Also, if it will work, what kind of hardware will I need? I am considering getting a development board, BOE, but I would like to use that for other things once this project is done.

Any help with any of this would be great!

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,
Ben

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2008-12-28 00:56
    You can use MacBS2. It works great for all the Stamps except the newest model, the BS2px.

You will need some high voltage transistors to control the Nixie tubes. Someone did a clock using Nixies for the display. Browse through the Completed Projects forum. You may find some schematics you can borrow from.

You can also search the web. One article I found: www.glowbug.nl/neon/HowToDriveNixies.html. There were many others.
  • JonathanJonathan Posts: 1,023
    edited 2008-12-28 01:40